--- title: "Creating New User Accounts" slug: "creating-new-user-accounts" updated: 2026-08-04T17:59:12Z published: 2026-08-04T17:59:12Z canonical: "help.agilityblue.com/creating-new-user-accounts" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.agilityblue.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Creating New User Accounts > [!NOTE] > Heads Up! > > Only users with the `Organization Administrator` role may create or manage user accounts. User accounts can be created from a couple of different areas within Agility Blue. Choose one of the following options to launch the new user window: ****Option 1: Most Common**** Within the home area, click on the `New` dropdown in the top-right navigation bar and choose the `Create a new User` option: ![Interface showing options to create a new user with highlighted button.](https://cdn.document360.io/630eeab5-df61-41eb-8d61-d3488c45f27d/Images/Documentation/CREATE NEW USER PNG.png) ****Option 2: User Accounts List**** Within the home area, navigate to the users tab on the top-right navigation bar, then click on the `New User` button: ![Navigation bar showing 'Users' section with an option to add a new user.](https://cdn.document360.io/630eeab5-df61-41eb-8d61-d3488c45f27d/Images/Documentation/Option 2- user accounts list png.png) ****Option 3: Organization Details User Accounts List**** While viewing your organization details page within the home area, navigate to the users section, then click on the `New User` button: ![User management interface showing options to add new users and view organizations.](https://cdn.document360.io/630eeab5-df61-41eb-8d61-d3488c45f27d/Images/Documentation/option 3- org details user accounts list png.png) ****Option 4: Workspace Users List**** While viewing the users page within a workspace, click on the `New User` button: ![Dashboard view showing the 'Users' section with a button to add a new user.](https://cdn.document360.io/630eeab5-df61-41eb-8d61-d3488c45f27d/Images/Documentation/option 4 - workspace users list.png) ## New User Window After launching the new user window, you will be presented with the following form: ![Form for adding a new user with various settings and options highlighted.](https://cdn.document360.io/630eeab5-df61-41eb-8d61-d3488c45f27d/Images/Documentation/New user window png.png) > [!NOTE] > Ensure you have enough user seats > > At the top of the form, a message will notify you how many licensed seats you have available for your organization. Users that require the `Organization Administrator` or `Organization User` roles will take up **1 licensed seat**. Contact your account manager if you need additional seats. Fill out the fields within the form: - **Email** This is what the user will use to login and receive notification emails from Agility Blue. Email addresses must be unique across your instance. - **First Name** The user’s first name. - **Last Name** The user’s last name. - **Time Zone** (optional) Setting the user’s time zone ensures that notification emails sent to them are formatted to be displayed in their local time. If a time zone is not defined, the workspace time zone setting will be used. - **Roles** (optional, but should be set to allow access) Choose the roles that the user requires: > [!NOTE] > Heads up! > > Roles and workspace permissions are **not the same**! Roles are high-level designations that grant product access and administrative capabilities across the entire organization. Workspace permissions, on the other hand, are unique to each workspace and provide granular control over what users can view, create, edit, or delete within a specific workspace. - The `Organization Administrator` role grants access to all Agility Blue products and allows additional organizational-level management functionality such as managing user accounts and workspaces. - The `Organization User` role is the most common role to apply and gives users general access to the core Agility Blue site. - For organizations that have purchased the Request Portal add-on license. The `Portal User` role grants access to the Agility Blue Request Portal. If only this role is applied to a user and no others, the user will only have access to the Agility Blue Request Portal site and they will not be counted as a licensed user against the organization’s user seat license. - **Workspace Access** (optional, but should be set to allow access) Add or remove workspaces that you would like the user to have access to. Users with the `Organization Administrator` or `Organization User` roles are automatically added to the **Workspace Administrators** permissions group within each workspace so they have full access to all functionality within the workspace. Check out the [permissions documentation](/v1/docs/permissions-introduction) if you would like to manage a user’s permissions within a workspace for more granular control. > [!NOTE] > Explicit access > > It’s possible to have an organization administrator that does not have access to a workspace. This exists to allow for unique situations where an admin should not be able to see certain content to facilitate ethical wall scenarios. - **Set Password Manually** If you would like to set a specific password for the user, flip this on and a new set of fields will appear that you can use to enter and confirm a password. Otherwise, the system will automatically generate a temporary password (you will not see this password). - **Require Password Change on Next Login?** If you would like the user to change their password the next time they login. If the user is sent a welcome email, they will be asked to change their password regardless of this setting. - **Send Welcome Email with Activation Link?** If you would like Agility Blue to send an email to the new user that contains a link that they can click on to activate their account. - **Apply Default Notification Rules?** If you would like Agility Blue to apply the default notification rules for the user within each workspace they have been given access to. Turn this option off if you’d like to directly control which notification rules should be applied to the user, if any. After filling out the necessary fields, hit the `Save` button to finish or `Save & New` button if you would like to add additional users.